How KLM Got it SO right!

KLM have always been my airline of choice – I love their ‘Trip Planner’ and the fact that I can tweet them to find out how many seats they have left on any particular flight.  They’ve always been ahead of the game in terms of embracing social media, but now they’ve risen to new spheres of excellence with the introduction of their Meet & Seat service; a great example of how social media and customer service options are increasingly merging to provide a new range of online choice for consumers.

Want to find out who will be on your KLM flight? With Meet & Seat you can view other passengers’ Facebook or LinkedIn profile details and see where they’ll be sitting – long before your flight leaves the ground. You can access the service through the ‘Manage My Booking’ option on the KLM website and then log in to your Facebook or LinkedIn account to select the profile details and interests that you want to share with other passengers.  The virtual seat map will show you other passenger’s profile details, along with displaying the seats they have chosen.  You can then select your seat next to someone who shares similar interests.

Clearly, this type of service won’t be for everyone, so KLM will only share profile details of those passsengers who choose to opt in.  Personally I think its a great way to ensure that you’re going to be sharing your flight with someone with whom you have something in common, especially on those seeming endless long haul journeys. It’s also a great way to meet up with others who may be attending the same event as you.

Currently the service is only available on their European flight service to Amsterdam but KLM plan to roll it out further throughout 2012 and beyond.

The service is currently being promoted by a series of (rapidly going viral) YouTube videos, under the campaign name, ‘Be My Guest’ (#BMG).  Watch one here and judge for yourself. 

See you on my next flight!

7 comments

  1. Anonymous · June 13, 2012

    What a Wonderful thought! I think if someone else is picking You to sit next to, the airline should have to okay it both ways tho! For obvious reasons…What with Stalkers, and other Undesirables….one can never be too safe! I’d pick You GF! 😉

  2. Anonymous · June 14, 2012

    I absolutely agree Ellie and I’m assured by KLM that only the details of those who choose to ‘opt in’ to the service are given out. Oh, and I’d choose you too darling!

  3. Adam Wilkinson-Moore · June 14, 2012

    I so read that as ‘meat and seat’.I’ll get back in my box now.

  4. Anonymous · June 14, 2012

    Hahahaha…I tend to agree with Adam!?? 🙂

  5. Mel · June 19, 2012

    I started off all buttoned up and ‘Hmm, well I’m not so sure about that’ and ended with ‘actually, that sounds pretty cool!’ (I also read it as meat and seat 🙂

  6. Anonymous · June 19, 2012

    Glad the idea won your round Mel! Maybe the ‘Meat and Seat’ idea could be a food lovers flight option? :-)))

  7. Mel · June 19, 2012

    Ha! possibly, although I’m vegetarian… 🙂

Leave a Reply

