Making Twitter Your Personal Brand Diary – Diana Adams

9781118336342_fg1303

As part of my ‘Personal Brand Superstars’ series of posts, all extracted from my new book ‘Follow Me’ (I unabashedly admit) I turn my attention this week to a lady who is sassy, classy,and who knows how to keep her social media audience interested 24/7. 

Diana Adams (@adamsconsulting) is the founder of BA75 (that’s short for Badass 75 Women of Twitter, of which I’m proud to be one) and a researcher and writer for the hugely popular BitRebels.com.  

“Twitter is like a diary for me” Diana exclaims. “I can look back through my timeline and know exactly what I was thinking and feeling on the days I sent certain tweets.” Certainly looking at Diana’s Twitter stream, you can immediately get a sense of the witty, super-intelligent, and sometimes cheeky lady behind the tweets. Diana’s personal brand Twitter show (which I tell you how to create in the book) radiates with all the things she loves, admires, and that simply catch her attention at a particular moment in time.

Diana has a way of hitting exactly the right notes with her followers in providing both value and entertainment; a rare combination, but one that Diana manages to achieve almost effortlessly it seems. In the beginning, Diana says she didn’t have any thoughts about how useful Twitter would be from a personal branding perspective.

“I don’t think very many people thought about it that way back then.” Diana remarks. “It was still so new, and at that time, none of us really understood what a powerful platform it would quickly evolve into. After about six months, the reality of what Twitter was capable of started to sink in.”

Back when Diana signed up, Twitter was a really small community, and it wasn’t very hard to make an impact. People were hungry for information, just like they are now, and it didn’t take long before she was completely hooked. Now, Diana has sent over 112,000 tweets and her popularity and influence on the platform continues to grow. 

Diana’s ‘Golden Rule’ for success is alive and well on Twitter and has been since the beginning. “If you want to be recognized on Twitter as a leader and if you want your personal brand to grow, it’s important to give before you will receive. If you want more retweets, retweet others. If you want more help figuring things out, help others with things you know how to do. If you want more people to engage with you and tweet you, you have to engage with others and tweet them first.

The most important thing is to never give up. Twitter is huge and can be an intimidating platform for newbies where it might take a little time to get your personal brand noticed by others. If you are genuine and consistent though, it is only a matter of time until it all clicks for you!”

Read  more of  Diana’s incredible personal branding success story in ‘Follow Me!’ and follow her @adamsconsulting on Twitter.

Click here to get your copy of ‘Follow Me’.

 

 

2 comments

  1. adamsconsulting · August 13, 2012

    Thank you very much, Sarah! I’m honored to be a part of your book, and I wish you all the success in the world. You are such a talented writer, and I learn from you every day! 🙂

  2. Anonymous · August 24, 2012

    How EVER did I miss this post? (Oh….it was the day of My Father’s Funeral!) Diana Adams is definitely a Twitter Icon/Powerhouse! During My time on Twitter I was very influenced by Her. She is a Sweet and generous Woman, with a strong Social Conscience! I missed Her a ton when she got so busy. Her presence on Twitter is missed a lot when She is away taking care of business!! Oh Sarah….now I really can’t wait to read Your newest Book!

Leave a Reply

