Putting Her Personal Brand In the Pink: Sharon Hayes (@SharonHayes)

9781118336342_fg1703

Sharon Hayes (@SharonHayes) is a leading Twitter lady who knows exactly where she’s going, and it’s straight to the top!  A successful entrepreneur, Sharon’s professional yet lovable personal brand is fully reflected in her Twitter profile.

Sharon is widely respected as a businesswoman. All three of her companies specialize in offering marketing related business-to-business services online and all have thrived as a result of her personal brand success. As a leader in online marketing, Sharon has had to be ahead of the curve in social media adoption. 

Sharon created her account on Twitter in September of 2008. Initially, she just accepted invites she had received from people. remarking “I attended a business conference in Los Angeles the next month and several contacts I made there had Twitter accounts. Until the end of that year, I used Twitter sporadically for conversational purposes and not much else. Somehow, I got to 500 followers and had maybe 200 or 300 tweets.”

In late December, Sharon discovered one thing about Twitter that changed everything — the retweet!  She recalls: “At the time, Twitter had no built-in retweeting function.  There were only manual retweets.  I shared a link to one news article, which ended up going viral because of others retweeting it. At the time, people seemed hungry to find new, interesting people to follow. I not only found this one tweet being recirculated, but I also picked up a few dozen new followers the same day.”

A good deal of the online marketing work Sharon has done has been related to viral campaigns. “Finding out what retweets could do exposure-wise — I literally felt like I had found the Holy Grail. My enthusiasm for Twitter rapidly kicked in and has stayed with me since.”

9781118336342_fg1701

Additionally, Sharon is an extensive user of Twitter Lists. She has broken her lists into multiple ones including those for people who retweet her, news sources, and closest friends. Twitter Lists have saved her a considerable amount of time in finding those things she wants to reshare or respond to.

Sharon believes that the Twitter tools she uses (all featured in my book) have enabled her to spend less time on the platform, without being any less effective in her stream:

“All told, with the way I manage my Twitter account and the tools I use, it is rare that I spend more than 3 hours a week on Twitter. This is without any kind of automation!”

Sharon has shown that you don’t need to have a permanent Twitter presence to make a powerful impact. What you do need is a strong personal brand message that translates well in the tweets you do choose to send out each day, and that’s something that Sharon has in buckets!

Read the full chapter about Sharon in my new book ‘Follow Me! Creating a Personal Brand with Twitter’ – available now!

 


 

 

5 comments

  1. SharonHayes · August 27, 2012

    Thank you doll! xo

  2. Anonymous · August 27, 2012

    It was such a pleasure to feature you in the book Sharon. You’re a true Superstar! x

  3. Peter Blake · August 27, 2012

    I’ve read ‘Follow Me’ several times already and it’s changed the way that I look at using Twitter for the better. My personal brand has never been more clearly defined thanks to the wonderful Ms Gratton. A must-read and Sharon’s is a great personal branding story.

  4. Anonymous · August 29, 2012

    How Wonderful to see a fellow Canadian and Friend profiled in Your book! I’ve yet to read either book Sarah, but I promise I will!! Tho I don’t have a personal brand, I would still Love to hear about all of You who do! And, if Peter says He’s read it several times; it must be really Fabulous! :))))

  5. amhare · September 2, 2012

    I like this

Leave a Reply

