So What Exactly Is a Social Media Brandologist?

Questionmark

I leave today for the Spotlight North Wales event 2012 (@SpotlightNWales) at the Glyndwr University Stand (@GlyndwrUni) where I’ll be meeting businesses of all sizes to explore the best way to promote their brands using social media.  As I finish packing my bags for the journey it strikes me that there are so many ‘so called’ social media experts or (even worse) ‘gurus’ out there, instilling thoughts of “we’re not worthy”‘ from our virtual back-row stalls.  

I certainly don’t want to be considered one of these self-ordained experts! The truth is that we’re all still learning about this ever evolving thing called social media – or, as I like to call it, new social media, due to the fact that we’ve actually had social media in one form or another for many years – but more about that in another post! 

I term myself a brandologist because the one thing I do know for certain is that it’s possible to take a little known brand and make it highly successful using a combination of psychology, along with the formulas I have devised using new social media that rely (and this is the important part) on the message of the brand itself and not as a result of anything specified by me.  My success as a brandologist  (and that’s not ego talking – it’s routed in solid, indisputable fact) is a continual journey of evolution based upon philosophies and practices that stay routed in our psyches as both consumers and marketers.  In other words it’s based upon making sense of what we already know!

With this in mind, I ask the brands I work with to bring their ‘brand message’ into focus by asking some very simple but fundamental questions, the answers of which go on to provide them with the emotional value keys needed to unleash their brand identity in a way that builds loyalty.  Ultimately it’s all a matter of charging brands with the kind of emotional equity that creates a halo effect, which then translates into the formation of brand ambassadors across the social spectrum.

I’ve become passionate about monitoring how business and brands around the globe use social media.  It’s an enlightening process; one that continually inspires me to try out new ideas in Cross Platform Promotion (CPP) as well as helping me spot new trends which might in time affect the various industries I work with.

The most important lesson I’ve learned so far is to never make assumptions based on our own personal reality.  A brand can’t and won’t survive in international business if it doesn’t embrace diversity.  Cultural differences will continue to arise that provide challenges to our brand messages, and the way to move forward is not by letting them create barriers but, instead, embracing them and choosing to let them help us evolve.

So, if you’re coming to see me at Spotlight North Wales, I won’t be waving any magic wand or giving any long speaches.  Instead, I’ll be doing a lot of listening.  The truth is that you know your brand better than anyone.  What I’ll be doing is showing you how to reveal its message in a way that that makes sense to the people you need to reach in order to thrive.

The rest, as they say, is up to you!

To find out more about the event visit: http://www.spotlightnorthwales.com/ or tweet them @SpotlightNWales.

 

 

5 comments

  1. Mark Deckers · November 1, 2012

    Great post. Looking forward to the opportunity to meet you. Any chance of an interview for my radio show?

  2. Stan Broadhurst · November 1, 2012

    Go create some brand new success pathways …. Great Blog SG 😉

  3. Anonymous · November 1, 2012

    Great post!

  4. Jad Jalloul · November 1, 2012

    It would have been nice to meet you in person and receive some advice on the ecommerce the I manage. http://www.soukorjuwan.com

  5. Anonymous · November 10, 2012

    Mark, looking forward to meeting up with you next week for that interview 🙂

Leave a Reply

