Meet the Twitter Ninja: @AskAaronLee

Posterous

No matter how smart or talented you are, you won’t get results without doing the work!” @AskAaronLee

 

Aaron Lee’s clear talent in social media management, coupled with his sincere and open personal brand made him a ‘must-include’ in my latest book ‘Follow Me!’

His work has been featured on prominent sites such as The Huffington Post and he is listed as one of the top social media personalities on Sprout Social Insights Wall of Fame.  Alongside these achievements, Aaron is also the ‘social ninja’ behind Binkd.com, a complete social media marketing platform for promotions, including contests, customer rewards, and incentive programs.

Aaron’s personal branding story began in 2008.  He recalls:

“It was the holidays and I didn’t want to look for a part time job, so I searched for alternative ways to make additional income. While at the bookstore one day, I stumbled upon a book about Internet marketing and, after browsing through the first few pages, I was immediately hooked. I read about the possibilities to make income through blogs and other Internet media, so I started a blog about coffee and was blogging throughout my time in the university.”

Since Aaron needed to build traffic to his blog, he looked for ways to get it ranked higher on Google. This took a lot of time and expertise, so he was curious to discover other ways of bringing more attention to his blog.

“I remember coming across an article about how Twitter could help me link my blog to other people, and I felt that this was a good idea. I registered in March 2009. At the time, Ashton Kutcher and CNN were battling each other to be the first to get to 1 million followers. Ashton won.”

At first, Aaron didn’t get what Twitter was about. He did, however, notice that some people were using the platform like a diary; sharing their to-do lists, what they just ate, and what they were going to do, so he started to post his own diary-type tweets about his daily life.

“I posted tweets like ‘going to class’ or ‘writing a blog post now’ and a follower responded to my tweets asking me what my blog post was about. After finishing the post, I sent him the link to my blog and he told me that he loved the article. It WOW-ed me!”

As Aaron begun sharing information that he’d learned from blogs and other websites, his followers started sharing and retweeting his tweets. He even had people who were keen to ask him questions, as his handle is @AskAaronLee. He remembers one of the weirdest questions asked was ‘what is the meaning of life?’

“After finding myself repeatedly answering a couple of similar questions about Twitter, I decided to start writing through my blog on January 1, 2010. I wanted to share my experiences with not only my followers but also those people who were looking for answers outside of Twitter. From that moment onward, my brand was slowly built to what it is today.”

Read Aaron’s personal branding success story in my new book ‘Follow Me’ available now!

One comment

  1. Mark Deckers · November 15, 2012

    Another great post SJ! Read I’ve read Follow Me several times now and learn something new every time. Thanks for being the social media light that you are.

Leave a Reply

